More Than a $1.99

At the market this
morning, I witnessed a poignant moment, so sharp in my mind I don’t
know that I’ll ever forget it. A young woman passing by me
laughingly holds up an orange sticker that says $1.99. She says to
her co-worker, “Is this all you think I’m worth”? The man with the
tie turns and says nothing, as he yanks the sticker sharply out of
her hands. He gives her a dirty look, to which she drops her head.
She looks down at her tired shoe laces and walks away in silence. I
couldn’t help but think to myself as I passed by her, “I’ve been
there hun.” I wanted to reach out to her and say, “You are important and what you have to say is valuable. Speak up! Don’t let
him treat you like that”. Yet I said nothing. She stands as a chilling memorial to the people in this world wondering what their
worth is; with no one to tell them they are more valuable than an orange sticker. Instead, since I didn’t know her, I gave her a nod. Saying with my eyes and smile, “Don’t worry about him. I see you. You are worth more than $1.99.”

Leave a Reply

